I Thank My Publishers for Publishing My Silly Scribblings

Frances “Fanny” Burney was among the most influential authors of her era. Living at a time when it was considered very scandalous for women to indulge in writing fiction—or reading it for that matter, she nevertheless published her groundbreaking novel Evelina or, The History of a Young Lady’s Entrance into the World, (London: T. Lowndes) in 1778. The book was very highly praised by the beau monde.
Described as “the Mother of English Fiction” by Virginia Woolf in 1918[1], Fanny Burney was also acclaimed by Anna Letitia Barbauld, a prominent English poet, essayist, literary critic, editor, and children’s author, a hundred years earlier:

“Scarcely any name, if any, stands higher in the list of novel-writers than that of Miss Burney.[2]

Fanny Burney helped to promote the status of women’s writing, but the introduction to her last novel, The Wanderer, reveals her lifelong ambivalence towards writing which she associated with “degradation”:

 “I struggled against the propensity which […] impelled me into its toils.”


When her first novel made her a celebrity at the age of twenty-six in 1778, she danced for joy around a mulberry tree but hid her novel from view to save herself the embarrassment of having to own up as its author.
I have recently begun reading Fanny Burney’s novels, having lately received an introduction to them through, of all places, my Amazon Suggested Reading List.
As a writer and editor, who has struggled with dedications, let alone dedications to publishers, I thought I would share with you one of the most fascinating dedications I’ve read to date—not because it was brilliant, but because it was so self-effacing.
I had to use a snipping tool in two parts to copy it from the PDF, so please forgive the huge gap right in the middle.



















Do you not find this delightful? Of course, I find this so because those of you who know me, know that I am ever so fond of Jane Austen, the Bronte’s, and other so-called Regency and Victorian writers.  (Charlotte Bronte, was born the year before Jane Austen died (1817), Emily Bronte the year after, and their sister Ann Bronte was borne a few years later still. Charles Dickens was five years old when Jane died and George Eliot was born two years later.)


I suppose I can be called an anglophile as I greatly admire all things British (except for the food perhaps). 


I did mention to my mother the other day that I watch so much BBC America and Masterpiece Theater, that I am surprised when I watch a program where the characters don’t use the Queen’s English.


So there it is.


[1] The Essays of Virginia Woolf, ed. by Andrew McNeillie, 4 vols (London: Hogarth Press 1986-94), II, p.314.
[2] The British Novelists, Anna Letitia Barbauld, 50 vols (London: F.C. & J. Rivington, 1810) XXXVIII.
Published in: on June 22, 2012 at 11:32 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://holleedazeink.wordpress.com/2012/06/22/i-thank-my-publishers-for-publishing-my-silly-scribblings/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

The Salty Mama

With salt in her blood & the rhythm of the sea in her heart.

The Irrefutable Opinion

Assaults on the Casually Mundane by K. Jean King

corngoblin

A rather droll affair

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Blevins Wordworx

Use Your Words. Build Your World.

Chris Skates

Faith enhances reason, it does not hinder reason; faith adds to, it does not subtract from reason

Vivian May Edwards

Author, Artist, Photographer

The Inkwell

ACFW Colorado's Blog for Writers

Jordan L. Hawk

Men, Monsters, and Mayhem

BlondeChampagne.com

Confessions Of A Manic Expressive

The Freelancery

Thriving on your own

Walt Kania

Marketing Writer

Mark Allen Editorial

Thoughts on journalism and copy editing, including grammar, usage and style. For more about me, click My Home Page to go to www.markalleneditorial.com.

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

