My Thanks for Giving

On this weekend when everyone gathers to thank God for their blessings, I would like to take the opportunity to say thank you to the Super Heroes in my life – in our lives.

There are men and women who, out of a wholly unselfish place that resides in so few, risk their lives to keep us safe – to guard us from harm – to fight for the oppressed whose lives have been cruelly used, whose families have been destroyed, whose lives have threatened.

One young man in particular, whom I have had the honor of knowing for many years, who has my utmost respect for his dedication, his commitment, his honorable heart, and who does not seek glory for himself in what he does so will herein remain almost nameless, is Mike. Those of you who know me will know by that alone who he is, and that is enough for my purposes here.

I can not in words given me to use, express to you, Mike, how much I hold dear to my heart your life and your strength. I thank you for your service in Iraq, your continued service at your present station, and your friendship to me and mine.

God bless you, young man. You are ever in my thoughts and prayers.

You Raise Me Up
http://mediaservices.myspace.com/services/media/embed.aspx/m=5902090,t=1,mt=video

Published in: on December 1, 2008 at 3:06 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://holleedazeink.wordpress.com/2008/12/01/my-thanks-for-giving/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Very nice, Holls. A fitting tribute to worthy heroes who can never be thanked enough.


Leave a Reply

The Salty Mama

With salt in her blood & the rhythm of the sea in her heart.

The Irrefutable Opinion

Assaults on the Casually Mundane by K. Jean King

corngoblin

A rather droll affair

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Blevins Wordworx

Use Your Words. Build Your World.

Chris Skates

Faith enhances reason, it does not hinder reason; faith adds to, it does not subtract from reason

Vivian May Edwards

Author, Artist, Photographer

The Inkwell

ACFW Colorado's Blog for Writers

Jordan L. Hawk

Men, Monsters, and Mayhem

BlondeChampagne.com

Confessions Of A Manic Expressive

The Freelancery

Thriving on your own

Walt Kania

Marketing Writer

Mark Allen Editorial

Thoughts on journalism and copy editing, including grammar, usage and style. For more about me, click My Home Page to go to www.markalleneditorial.com.

An American Editor

Commentary on Books, eBooks, and Editorial Matters

